top of page

A Mini Me and Me Must: I like the way you work it, no diggity, I got to Baby Bag it up...

There are no two ways around it, babies need A LOT of stuff. Remember when getting out the door meant grabbing your keys and handbag? Ha, ha, lol. I find myself staring down at said redundant bag abandoned at the front door since the day we brought Mini Me Home with a wistful fondness for the pocket filled with various lipstick shades transferred from each bag to the next. Some of them I haven't worn for years, but you never know when the urge to wear a bright pink matte lipstick might come over you... Then there's the multitude of receipts for spontaneous purchases, ranging from a new pair of shoes, a Jumpsuit for an impromptu night out (because the choice of 12 in your wardrobe simply weren't right) to M&S Lamb Shanks and the multitude of Petrol receipts that were only £5 just 'to tide me over until payday'. And finally the inexplicable amount of crumbs gathered in the bottom because apparently you used to use the bag as some kind of Dinner Plate come Trough... Thank you for your service crumby' lipstick, receipt bag, but your services are no longer required. I'm a Mum now and I need a Mum Bag reflective of my new Position.

There was only one brand for me when it came to choosing my Baby Bag, and that brand was Babymel. I came across them early in my pregnancy through my beloved Pinterest and knew I didn't need to bother looking anywhere else. Their bags are chic and stylish, but designed for the sole purpose of being Baby Bags, so they ticked all the practical boxes too.

I went for the 'Robyn Convertible Backpack in Black.' We get so many compliments on it and it matches our Oyster2 Pram perfectly (a post on the minefield of Pram Shopping coming soon...). It's got a large internal zip pocket, 2 internal pouch pockets, is super spacious inside and then externally has a large front flap pocket and 2 side pouches, one for bottles and one for wipes (the wipes pocket has a dispenser slot for pulling wipes through, so you can easily grab a wipe without having to undo zips or dig through your bag). The bag comes with a a wipeable Changing Mat and also Bottle Warmer AND can be worn 4 ways - as a backpack, shoulder bag, cross body or hand held - and has velcro straps to easily attach it to your Pram Handle. I literally can't sing the praises of this bag enough. It ticked all my boxes and more. And if all it's features weren't enough, Husband loves wearing it too in Backpack mode. #dadswag.

As with anything baby, you can go low end - which in my experience is no bad thing at all, it just might mean you find yourself replacing it sooner. You can go high end - beautiful to behold, but not necessarily a guarantee of robustness and in my case, way out of my price limit. So we decided to go mid-range and as you can tell couldn't be more thrilled with our choice. Babymel forthewin.

bottom of page